Breaking the Vault – 14th January 2023

I was lucky enough to be in a group that defeated Raszageth, the final boss of the Dragonflight Vault of the Incarnates raid in World of Warcraft. No longer will her tiny t-rex arms terrify the Dragon Isles!

This is my first time completing a World of Warcraft raid, on Normal, during the release of the expansion. I started playing at the end of Shadowlands, so I was able to complete the raids there, but of course I had access to end of expansion equipment and was in groups of people who were well practised at that point in dealing with the mechanics of all the bosses.

Raszageth seemed pretty difficult to me, the first phase of the fight involved making sure targeted area of effect attacks were dropped at the edge of the arena so they left behind a sticky floor, which was necessary to survive a shortly following knock-back attack, all the while remembering to stay mobile for incoming breath attacks.

For phase two you needed to get in the right position to be knocked to a side platform and defeat the enemies there quickly while Raszageth straifed the field with lighting which I frequently failed to dodge.

Phase three things picked up a bit, Raszageth starts doing a lot of damage until you break her shield, making sure to group up with players who received the same buff/debuff as you and afterwards there’s a tornado elemental to deal with, making sure to keep all its little friends away from it.

For the last phase, when you finally think you have it all under control, there’s a final knock-back back to the original platform to surprise the players and kill off anyone not ready for it and a final mad rush to kill Raszageth before she kills you.

I managed to stay alive for the whole fight! But that’s mostly because I never got targeted with the sticky floor bombs, which if I had would have been left in awkward places in a mad panic.

Leave a comment